Saturday, August 15, 2009

Nathaniel Mayer - Why Won't You Let Me Be Black? (2009)

1. Dreams Come True
2. Mr. Tax Man
3. If You Would Be My Guide
4. She's Bad
5. You Are The One
6. The Girl Next Door
7. The Puddle
8. What Would You Do?

Nathaniel Mayer (1944-2008) was one of the all-time great soul singers. His 1962 record "Village of Love" made him a star, and he inspired several generations of musicians, especially in his hometown of Detroit. Nathaniel's last sessions took place during two long summer days and nights of intense jamming, writing, and recording. "Why Don't You Give It To Me?" was the first installment of these recordings to be unleashed. Now, here at last, is a second volume of Nathaniel Mayer having a blast with the assistance of members of the Black Keys, SSM, Outrageous Cherry, and the Dirtbombs. The two acoustic performances are from a 2007 radio interview, Nathaniel's only known "unplugged" performance. About the title: It has to do with the food he kept being served while on tour in Europe. When Nate finally became frustrated with the countless plates of cheese and French bread that awaited him backstage at every gig, he shouted "Why Won't You Let Me Be Black?". He agreed that it sounded like a good title for his next album.

1 comment:

the-d-nice said...

Have it on vinyl already but it's nice to have in mp3. Thanks from Winnipeg