Monday, June 8, 2009

Stevie Wonder - Down To Earth (1966)

Stevie Wonder's third album signaled more artistic growth, but was the first of his career that didn't make much commercial headway. It didn't contain a single big hit, something that wouldn't happen again to Wonder for many, many years. There were moments of uncertainty and awkwardness on such songs as "Angel Baby (Don't You Ever Leave Me)" and "Lonesome Road." Wonder was laying the groundwork for numerous classics that routinely came throughout the 1970s and '80s; his voice was losing its cuteness and beginning to gain the richness and edge that punctuated many of his future albums.

1 Place in the Sun

2 Bang Bang

3 Down to Earth

4 Thank You Love

5 Be Cool, Be Calm (And Keep Yourself Together)

6 Sylvia

7 My World Is Empty Without You

8 Lonesome Road

9 Angel Baby (Don't You Ever Leave Me)

10 Mr. Tambourine Man

11 Sixteen Tons

12 Hey Love

1 comment:

freqazoidiac said...

good album, but your blog is sadly lacking originality, ripping off AMG for your 'synopsis' what is a blog, if it's lacking originality? it's a bullshit-log,and that's not a diss, just reflection.